About

About

The Sonoma County Winegrape Commission, also known as Sonoma County Winegrowers (SCW), was established in 2006 as a marketing and educational organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of Sonoma County as one of the world’s premier grape growing regions. SCW has oversight by California Department of Food and Agriculture which supports producer regions. 

With more than 1,800 growers, SCW’s goal is to increase awareness and recognition of the quality and diversity of Sonoma County’s grapes and wines through dynamic marketing and educational programs targeted to wine consumers around the world.

In January 2014, SCW committed to becoming the nation’s first 100% sustainable winegrowing region by 2019. As of December 2015, 64% of the vineyard acreage in Sonoma County has gone through the sustainability self-assessment and 48% of vineyards are certified by a third party auditor.  These sustainability efforts were recently recognized with California’s highest environmental honor, the 2016 Governor’s Environmental and Economic Leadership Award (GEELA).  

2016/2017 Commissioners

Kevin Barr (Chairman)
Joe Dutton (Vice Chairman)
Mark Sanchietti (Treasurer)
John Balletto
Duff Bevill
Doug McIlroy
George Martinelli
Bret Munselle
Glenn Proctor
Steve Sangiacomo
Ray Johnson (Public Member at Large

Alternates

Domenic Carinalli
Anna Darden
Marissa Ledbetter
Richard Mounts
Vickie Mulas
Mark Pasternak
Brad Petersen (Past Chairman)
Dan Rotlisberger
Rich Schaefers
Brent Young
Rhonda Smith (Public Member at Large)

Staff

Karissa Kruse, President
Phone: 707-522-5863
Email: Karissa@sonomawinegrape.org

Kate Piontek, Vice President of Operations
Phone: 707-522-5868
Email: Kate@sonomawinegrape.org

Sean Carroll, Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: 707-522-5865
Email: Sean@sonomawinegrape.org

Robert LaVine, Sustainability Manager
Phone: 707-522-5851
Email: Robert@sonomawinegrape.org

Karen Thomas, Grower Programs Manager
Phone: 707-522-5862
Email: Karen@sonomawinegrape.org

Andriana Duckworth, Relationship & Program Manager
Phone: 707-522-5867
Email: Andriana@sonomawinegrape.org

Lori Petersen, Bookeeper
Phone: 707-522-5852
Email: Finance@sonomawinegrape.org

Denise Moore, Executive Assistant
Phone: 707-522-5864
Email: Denise@sonomawinegrape.org